The Secretariat provides scientific and technical coordination for Blue Planet Components as well as logistical support for Blue Planet activities.

The Blue Planet Secretariat is hosted by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation.



Steering Committee Staff

Emily Smail, Scientific Coordinator, Blue Planet Initiative, USA (NOAA).

Jonathan Hodge, Technical Coordinator, Blue Planet Initiative, Australia (CSIRO).

Management Committee

The Management Committee is responsible for managing the daily operations and activities of Blue Planet.

Management Committee Members

Louis Celliers, Principal Researcher, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa.

Samy Djavidnia, Senior Project Officer, Integrated Services Design, European Maritime Safety Agency, Portugal.

Paul DiGiacomo, Chief, Satellite Oceanography and Climatology Division (SOCD) in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS) Center for Satellite Applications and Research (STAR); NOAA CoastWatch/OceanWatch Program Manager; NOAA/NESDIS MOBY Project Manager, USA.

Emily Smail, Scientific Coordinator, Blue Planet Initiative (NOAA).

Jonathan Hodge, Technical Coordinator, Blue Planet Initiative (CSIRO).

Sophie Seeyave, Executive Director, Partnership for Observation of the Global Oceans, UK.

Andy Steven, Research Director – Coasts, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation Oceans and Atmosphere Unit, Australia.