Advisory Board 

The Advisory Board is responsible for providing strategic direction for Blue Planet and advocating for Blue Planet.

Advisory Board Members

Jesse Ausubel, Director, Program for the Human Environment, Rockefeller University, USA.

Patricio Bernal, Program Research Director, Coastal & Marine, CSIRO Chile, Chile.

Monica Grasso, Chief Economist, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, USA.

Alex Held, Director of the Centre For Earth Observation, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation; Chair of the Committee on Earth Observation Satellites Strategic Implementation Team, Australia.

Margaret Leinen, Director of Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Trustee, Partnership for Observation of the Global Oceans, USA.

James Alix Michel, Executive Chairman, James Michel Foundation; Former President of the Seychelles, Seychelles.

James Movick, Chair, Pacific Fusion Centre Reference Group, Solomon Islands. 

Takehiro Nakamura, Chief of the Marine and Coastal Ecosystems Unit, United Nations Environment Programme, Kenya.

Gilles Ollier, Head of Sector, Earth Observations, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission.

Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission; Assistant Director General of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, France.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is the main decision-making body, responsible for coordinating Blue Planet’s activities, identifying and, where possible, contributing resources.

Steering Committee Members


Paul DiGiacomo, Chief, Satellite Oceanography and Climatology Division (SOCD) in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS) Center for Satellite Applications and Research (STAR); NOAA CoastWatch/OceanWatch Program Manager; NOAA/NESDIS MOBY Project Manager, USA.

Sophie Seeyave, Chief Executive Officer, Partnership for Observation of the Global Oceans, UK.


Lenore Bajona, Director of Data Management, Ocean Tracking Network, Canada.

Louis Celliers, Senior Scientist and Project Manager, Climate Service Center, Germany.

Francisco Chavez, Senior Scientist and Biological Oceanographer, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute, USA.

Douglas Cripe, Scientific Officer, Group on Earth Observations Secretariat, Switzerland.

Laura David, Professor, Marine Science Institute, University of the Philippines Diliman, Philippines

Samy Djavidnia, Senior Project Officer, Integrated Services Design, European Maritime Safety Agency, Portugal.

Elva Escobar-Briones, Director of the Marine Sciences and Limnology Institute of the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico.

Jeremy Gault, Coordinator of Coastal and Marine Management, MaREI Centre; Operations Manager, Beaufort; Coordinator, Future Earth Coasts International Project Office, Ireland.

Rene Garello, President, IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society; Professor, Télécom Bretagne, France.

Juliet Hermes, Manager, South African Environmental Observation Network’s Egagasini Node for Marine Offshore Systems.

Pierre-Yves Le Traon, Scientific Director, Mercator Ocean; Research Director, Ifremer, France.

Eric Lindstrom, Physical Oceanography Program Scientist, Science Mission Directorate, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), USA.

Vivian Lutz, Independent Researcher, National Council of Scientific and Technological Research, Argentina.

Glenn Nolan, Secretary General, EuroGOOS, Belgium.

Linwood Pendleton, Global Oceans Lead Scientist, World Wildlife Fund; Senior Fellow in the Ocean and Coastal Policy Program, Duke University, International Chair of Excellence, European Institute of Marine Studies, France. 

Hans-Peter Plag, Professor, Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Director, Mitigation and Adaptation Research Institute (MARI), Old Dominion University, USA.

Christine Pequignet, Senior Scientist, Met Office, UK.

Trevor Platt, Professional Fellow, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK.

Ralph Rayner, Chairman, Sonardyne International Limited; Professorial Research Fellow at the London School of Economics in the Centre for Analysis of Time Series, UK.

Shubha Sathyendranath, Merit Scientist, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, UK.

Andy Steven, Research Director – Coasts, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation Oceans and Atmosphere Unit, Australia.

Li Zhang, Professor, Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Vice Director, Hainan Key Laboratory of Earth Observations, China.